G7FEK Rebuild – Part 2

Last night I managed to get these weird looking brass banana plugs soldered to the three counterpoises.

I also took down the centre pole and

  • Untangled everything, including how badly the rope was tangled around a tree.
  • Pulled out the pole sections that had collapsed
  • Cleaned up the gum from the gaffa tape with a rag and turps
  • Replaced the gaffa tape that is supposed to stop the collapsing
  • Found the plastic base that I got for the plastic pipe that supports the pole and attached it.
  • Got the pole back in the air
  • Raised the antenna to about half height.

The reason I only raised it half way is that I have to take down the 7m pole that takes the shorter 40m section to do similar work on it, and given the length, I’d have to lower it anyway.

Hopefully I’ll get onto that today. Once It’s back in the air I can start looking at what I need to do to tune it (hopefully not a lot).

A lesson learned last night, that cloth that you use with the turps to clean up the pole, … Don’t put it back in the office where you spend your time working.

Leave a comment